Former Keynote Speakers

Registration | Hotel and Area Information | Speakers |
| Sponsors | Planning Committee |
Award for Excellence | Previous Conferences | Former Keynotes

Boston – April 15-17, 2020

Former Keynote Speakers:  

Over the years at NPEA’s annual conference, we have been privileged to hear from and engage with leaders in the educational access and success field. Their remarks have covered a wide range of topics, including: the achievement gap, collaboration in communities, STEM education, advocacy, identity development, HBCUs, higher education, stereotype threat, supporting and developing holistic programs, grit, and more.

NPEA is proud to have these incredible speakers in its former keynote pool:
*please note: titles and affiliations listed below reflect those at the time of the keynote address

Click to View by Alphabetical Order | Click to View by Conference Year

Alphabetical Order:

  • Dorinda Carter Andrews (2018)
    • Assistant Dean of Equity Outreach Initiatives, College of Education, and Associate Professor of Race, Culture, and Equity, Department of Teacher Education, Michigan State University
  • Joshua Aronson (2015)
    • Associate Professor of Applied Psychology, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development, New York University
  • Eric Bettinger (2012)
    • Associate Professor of Economics, Stanford Graduate School of Business
  • Donnell Butler (2019)
    • Senior Associate Dean for Planning and Analysis of Student Outcomes, Franklin & Marshall College (F&M)
  • Matthew Chingos (2010)
    • Senior Fellow, Urban Institute; and Co-AuthorCrossing the Finish Line: Completing College at America’s Public Universities (2009)
  • Ann Coles (2010)
    • Senior Fellow for College Access Programs, uAspire
  • Greg Darnieder (2010)
    • Senior Advisor to the Secretary on the College Access Initiative, U.S. Department of Education
  • Angela Lee Duckworth (2013)
    • Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Psychology, University of Pennsylvania; and Founder and CEO, Character Lab
  • Christopher Emdin (2017)
    • Associate Professor, Columbia University; Author, For White Folks Who Teach In The Hood and the Rest of Y’all Too: Reality Pedagogy and Urban Education (2016)
  • Eve Ewing (2019)
    • Assistant Professor in the School of Social Service Administration, University of Chicagoand Author, Electric Arches (2017) and Ghosts in the Schoolyard: Racism and School Closings on Chicago’s South Side (2018)
  • Ron Fairchild (2009)
    • President and CEO, Smarter Learning Group
  • Stella M. Flores (2017)
    • Associate Professor, Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development, New York University
  • Shaun R. Harper (2016)
    • Founder, Center for the Study of Race and Equity in Education, University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education
  • Freeman A. Hrabowski, III (2010)
    • President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Anthony Abraham Jack (2018)
    • Junior Fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows and Assistant Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Educationand Shutzer Assistant Professor, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University
  • John H. Jackson (2011)
    • President and CEO, The Schott Foundation for Public Education
  • Scott Barry Kaufman (2014)
    • Scientific director of the Imagination Institute, research in the Positive Psychology Center at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Karen L. Mapp (2016)
    • Senior lecturer on education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (HGSE) and the faculty director of the Education Policy and Management Master’s Program
  • Wes Moore (2012)
    • AuthorThe Other Wes Moore (2010)
  • Liz Murray (2016)
    • Author, Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival and My Journey From Homeless to Harvard (2010)
  • Na’ilah Suad Nasir (2019)
    • President, Spencer Foundation; and Author, Racialized Identities: Race and Achievement for African-American Youth (2011)
  • Pedro Noguera (2011)
    • Peter L. Agnew Professor of Education, Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Development, New York University
  • Vijay Pendakur (2018)
    • Robert W. and Elizabeth C. Staley Dean of Students, Cornell University; and Editor, Closing the Opportunity Gap: Identity-Conscious Strategies for Retention and Student Success
  • Steve Pemberton (2013)
    • Author, A Chance in the World: An Orphan Boy, a Mysterious Past, and How He Found a Place Called Home (2012)
  • Laura W. Perna (2015)
    • James S. Riepe Professor and Founding Executive Director, Alliance for Higher Education and Democracy (AHEAD), University of Pennsylvania
  • Karl Reid (2010)
    • Executive Director, National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)
  • Melissa Roderick (2012)
    • Hermon Dunlap Smith Professor, School of Social Service Administration, University of Chicago; and Co-Director, UChicago Consortium on Chicago School Research
  • Esmeralda Santiago (2014)
    • Author, Screenwriter, and Essayist, When I Was Puerto Rican (1993)
  • Mandy Savitz-Romer (2013)
    • Senior Lecturer on Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Joyce Smith (2010)
    • Chief Executive Officer, National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC)
  • Beverly Daniel Tatum (2011)
    • President, Spelman College. Author of: Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria: And Other Conversations About Race (1997), and other works
  • Salome Thomas-EL (2015)
    • Award-Winning Principal and AuthorThe Immortality of Influence (2010) and I Choose to Stay (2003)
  • Paul Tough (2017)
    • Author, Helping Children Succeed: What Works and Why (2016) and How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character (2012)
  • Janie Ward (2014)
    • Professor and Chair, Africana Studies and Education, Simmons College; and Author, The Skin We’re In: Teaching Our Teens To Be Emotionally Strong, Socially Smart, and Spiritually Connected
  • Richard Weissbourd (2009)
    • Senior Lecturer in Education, Harvard Graduate School and Education and the Kennedy School of Government

Conference Year:












Back to Top