2015 Award for Excellence in Collaboration

2015 NPEA Conference Logo
| Speakers | Workshops | Sponsors | Planning Committee |
Award for Excellence | Previous Conferences


2015 Award Recipient:

The Clarence T.C. Ching PUEO Program at Punahou School

NPEA is pleased to announce the winner of the 2015 Award for Excellence in Collaboration – The Clarence T.C. Ching PUEO Program at Punahou School. Brad Kerwin (Coordinator) and Suzanne Sato (Advancement, Leadership Giving Officer) of PUEO received the award at the NPEA 2015 conference on April 16th. The PUEO program identifies students at neighboring public middle and high schools, and aims to raise these students’ aspirations and preparation to thrive in college by utilizing resources at Punahou School for a seven-year educational experience that includes summer school classes, small group mentoring, and academic-year group activities.

2015 Award for Excellence Winner

Pictured (left to right): NPEA Advisory Board member John Leach (Director of Financial Aid, Emory University), Award for Excellence in Collaboration winners Brad Kerwin (Coordinator, PUEO Program) and Suzanne Sato (Advancement, Leadership Giving Officer, PUEO Program), and NPEA Planning Committee member Kamper Floyd (Director, Jackson Get2College Center, Education Services Foundation)
Photo credit: Contigo Photography

This award recognizes an NPEA Member that has demonstrated successful and positive results in forming, cultivating and implementing a collaboration that serves to increase the educational opportunities for underrepresented students.

Excerpt from PUEO’s nomination:

“[This program] works in partnership with the DOE to motivate public school students who might otherwise fall between the cracks to graduate from high school and continue to higher education…[students] develop the skills and confidence that will enable them to thrive in school, attain their college aspirations, and contribute to Hawai’i’s future.”

NPEA thanks all those who submitted nominations for the Award for Excellence this year! We applaud the work of all the applicants.

2015 Award Nominees:

We were pleased to receive several strong nominations for the fifth annual award. Please click on the links below to read more about these outstanding organizations, programs, and schools.
Achieve at Noble and Greenough School (MA)
Building Educated Leaders for Life (BELL)Power Scholars Academy (National)
Bickel & Brewer Future Leaders Program (TX)
Leadership Enterprise from a Diverse America (LEDA) (NY)
Oliver Scholars Program (NY)
PUEO Program (HI) – *2015 winner
St. George’s Independent School (TN)

Past winners also include: Buffalo Prep (2014), Aim High (2013), The Partners Program at The College Preparatory School (2012), and Middle Grades Partnership (2011).

Return to the National Conference page.